Slidebar content.

19 June 2017

TRL Queensland State of Origin
Team Announcement

Touch Rugby League Australia is proud to announce the 2017 Queensland Men’s, Women’s and Mixed Teams to play New South Wales on the evening of Friday 29 September under the lights of Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe. The State of Origin Series will be a pre-curser for the 2017 TRL Australian Championships which will be held on 30 September and 1 October at Dolphin Stadium and Talobilla Park, Redcliffe. The weekend will also showcase a number of TRL International Games featuring Australia v New Zealand and Vietnam v Rest of the World.

With oversight from TRL Australia Operations Manager Mason Part, lead selectors Matt Anderson (TRL Gold Coast) and Dallas Williams (TRL Rockhampton) have today unveiled a team flush with experience and new talent.

The 2017 TRL State of Origin Series will also include the inaugural Women’s game. TRL Australia’s Chief Executive Officer, Stefan Ziesolleck, said “The Queensland Women’s side features players from 9 unique locations and heralds TRL’s most diverse series yet, a true testament to our exponential growth as we pave the way for standalone Women’s competitions across the country.”

Congratulations to all selected players.

Ben Maddick (Sunshine Coast)
Bucky Gautusa (Indooroopilly Phillies)
Darren Gehrke (Yeronga Chiefs)
Duane Huynh (Springfield Cobras)
Eddie Tran (Yeronga Chiefs)
Jassy Bhullar (Beenleigh)
Josh Bidgood (Sunshine Coast)
Khanui Cox (Beenleigh)
Michael Rasmussen (Ipswich Blackhawks)
Reece Janson (c) (Beenleigh)
Ryan Ficarra (Beenleigh)
Terry Rodgers (Indooroopilly Phillies)
Trevor Cook (Indooroopilly Phillies)
Wally Peggler (Toowoomba)
Wesley Collins (Sunnybank Samurais)
Ali Harley (Carina Cubs)
Amanda Issa (Townsville Cowboys)
Ashlee Gale (Kedron Colts)
Bronte Borg (Ipswich Blackhawks)
Clare Kenny (c) (Yeronga Chiefs)
Emily Want (Mt Gravatt)
Isabel Scalia (Yeronga Chiefs)
Jourdain Slater (Kedron Colts)
Kayla Geddes (Carina Cubs)
Lauren Bannerman (Kedron Colts)
Mary McKenna (Wynnum Wildcards)
Peta Adda (Carina Cubs)
Rebecca Kirkup (Ipswich Blackhawks)
Renee Kropp (Moreton Bay Bugs)
Shelby Geddes (Sunshine Coast Sloths)
Christian Kereszteny (Carina Cubs)
David Browne (c) (Carina Cubs)
David Buchanan (Rockhampton Rush)
Francis Otto (Carina Cubs)
Jayden Vea Vea (Rockhampton Rush)
Junior Laloifi (Sunnybank Samurais)
Matt Spies (Yeronga Chiefs)
Michael Regino (Ipswich Blackhawks)
Brigid Murray (Indooroopilly Phillies)
Brittany McHugh (Rockhampton Rush)
Emma Kurki (Carina Cubs)
Jemma Collins (Rockhampton Rush)
Jess Powell (Rockhampton Rush)
Nikki Cox (Ipswich Blackhawks)


For more information on the 2017 TRL Queensland Origin Team please contact:

Mason Part
Operations Manager
TRL Australia


TRL Australia