Slidebar content.

25 July 2017

2017 TRL International Series
Team Announcement

Touch Rugby League (TRL) Australia is proud to announce the teams for the first ever TRL International Series, to be played as a precursor to the TRL Australian Championships at Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe on September 30 and October 1.

The 2017 TRL Internationals Series will feature two standalone games: Australia vs New Zealand Men’s and Vietnam vs Rest of the World Mixed.

Reece Janson and Khanui Cox, teammates on the 2017 State Champions Men’s Team, Beenleigh will line up against each other as opposing captain’s in the inaugural Australia v New Zealand game.

The Rest of the World team, captained by Darren Gehrke, will see players from the Philippines, PNG, Samoa and Malaysia face off against a strong Vietnam outfit captained by Lam Trinh.

TRL Australia’s Executive Chairman, Tom Longworth, is proud to see the game come this far, commenting on the diversity of the competition, ‘The inaugural TRL International Series is a great step forward for the game and a reflection of the multicultural nature of the sport. High participation rates from players with foreign heritage has created a definite avenue to introducing the game to an international market’.

Congratulations to all selected players.


Reece Janson ©
Ryan Ficarra
Jassy Bhullar
Ben Maddick
Reece Baker
Scott Maddick
David Browne
Francis Otto
Willie Bishop
Dale Palmer


New Zealand

Khanui Cox ©
Michael Rassmussen
Arepa Ohio
Nick Donghi
Ethan Te Namu
Josh Walker
Jake Hooper
Chris Morris
Ammon Pokere
Hape Hohua
Joel Moreno



Lam Trinh ©
Nicholas Nguyen
Brandon Le
Eddie Tran
Tuan Tran
Annah Le
Diane Tran
Leanne Le
Duane Huynh
Lien Phan
Thang Dang
Bao Hong
Nhung Vo

Rest of the World

Darren Gehrke ©
Kevin Lee
Terry Rodgers
Bucky Gautusa
Braiden Millard
Amelia Kukk
Megan Evans
Yolanda Gittins
Nikki Cox
Kristen Gibbs


TRL Australia